ISTR New Scholars Prize 2015

ISTR runs an annual essay competition for New Scholars. There is no set theme for this competition; rather, candidates are encouraged to submit work drawing on their current research. New research, or essays developed from papers presented at the preceding conference are welcome. The New Scholars’ Prize is awarded to the best essay, judged on originality, coherence and rigour.

The winners of ISTR New Scholars Prize 2015 are:


Ruud van den Beuken (Radboud University Nijmegen) ­

“Future Femme Fatales: Prospective Memories and Postcolonial Marriages in Original Mythological Plays at the Dublin Gate Theatre, 1928-1933”


Second place

Virginie Girel-Pietka (Université Lille 3)

“Renewing Cuchulain as a National Icon”


Third place

Brenda Donohue (Trinity College Dublin)

“’Worthy of the Times, but Resisting the Times’: Critique and Creation in Emma Dante’s Theatre and Working Strategies”